Main Menu

Senate Steps Down Confirmation Of REC By Two Weeks

Senate  has step down the confirmation of  27 Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). The Senators apparently irked by the stand of the President on  Ibrahim Magu rejection by the senate two weeks ago decided to send a signal to the presidency on their displeasure.

The President had earlier written to them for the confirmation of the 19 Resident Electoral Commissioner  and the reappointment of 8.

This is, in accordance with sections 14(3)(a) of the Third Schedule to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.

The senators argued that by the retention of Ibrahim Magu as EFCC boss long after his rejection was a threat to the principle of separation of power.

The senators therefore resolved to step down the confirmation for two weeks to acquaint the President on the workings of  the Senate.

List of the REC:

1. Prof. Godswill Obioma – Abia (New Appointment)

2. Ibrahim Abdullahi – Adamawa (New Appointment)
3. Alhaji Ahmad Makama – Bauchi (Reappointment)
4. James Iorliam Apam – Benue (New Appointment)
5. Barr. Mike A. Igini – Delta (Reappointment)
6. Dr. Nkwachukwu Orji – Ebonyi (New Appointment)
7. Dr. Ilo Joseph Valentine Chuks – Enugu (New Appointment)
8. Hussaini Halilu Pai – FCT (Reappointment)
9. Sadiq Abubakar Musa – Kaduna (Reappointment)
10. Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa – Kano (Reappointment)
11. Dr. (Mrs.) Asmau Sani Maikudi – Katsina (New Appointment)
12. Dr. Mahmuda Isah – Kebbi (New Appointment)
13. Prof. Samuel G. Egwu – Kogi (New Appointment)
14. Amb. (Dr.) Rufus O. Akeju – Lagos (Reappointment)
15. Prof. Mustapha Zubairu – Niger (New Appointment)
16. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke – Ogun (New Appointment)
17. Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun – Ondo (Reappointment)
18. AbdulGaniyu Olayinka Raji – Oyo (New Appointment)
19. Prof. Riskuwa A. Shehu – Sokoto (New Appointment)
20. Barr. Kasim Gana Geidam – Yobe (Reappointment)
21. Ahmad Bello Mahmud – Zamfara (New Appointment)
22. Dr. Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda – Plateau (New Appointment)
23. Umar Ibrahim – Taraba (New Appointment)
24. Mr. Emeka Ononamadu Joseph – Imo (New Appointment)
25. Obo O. Effanga – Cross River (New Appointment)
26. Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu – Anambra (New Appointment)
27. Dr. Briyai O. Frankland – Bayelsa (New Appointment).


Leave a Reply